City Department: Community Development

The Department of Community Development is responsible for land use planning in the City and provides staff support to the Planning Board, Conservation Commission and Disability Commission. The Department also administers the Community Development Block Grant Program, other state and federal grants, Community Development, and Housing Programs including HOME Rehabilitation. The Department is comprised of three divisions- Planning, Economic Development, and Housing & Development- and aims to achieve its mission by focusing on data-informed decision-making, collaboration, community engagement, and strategic planning.